Nevi’im (Prophets)

Nevi'im - Prophets (Hebrew)

The Books in Nevi’im

Nevi’im covers 853 years of history, starting after the death of Moses, and ending with the rise of the Greek empire. It has 8 books that cover the former prophets and the later prophets. It covers the time from about 2488 (1273 BCE) to 3627 (420 BCE).

  • 4 Books: Former Prophets:
    • Yehoshua (Joshua)
    • Shoftim (Judges)
    • Shmuel I (I Samuel)
    • Shmuel II (II Samuel)
    • Melachim I (I Kings)
    • Melachim II (II Kings)
  • 3 Books: Latter Major Prophets:
    • Yeshayahu (Isaiah)
    • Yirmiyahu (Jeremiah)
    • Yechezkel (Ezekiel)
  • 1 Book: Latter Twelve Minor Prophets
English Name    Transliteration Hebrew
Joshua Yehoshua Joshua (Hebrew)
Judges Shofetim Judges (Hebrew)
1 Samuel Shmuel Aleph 1 Samuel (Hebrew)
2 Samuel Shmuel Bet 2 Samuel (Hebrew)
1 Kings Melachim Aleph 1 Kings (Hebrew)
2 Kings Melachim Bet 2 Kings (Hebrew)
Isaiah Yeshayah Isaiah (Hebrew)
Jeremiah Yerimyah Jeremiah (Hebrew)
Ezekiel Yechezkel Ezekiel (Hebrew)
Hosea Hoshaya Hosea (Hebrew)
Joel Yoel Joel (Hebrew)
Amos Amos Amos (Hebrew)
Obadiah Ovadyah Obadiah (Hebrew)
Jonah Yonah Jonah (Hebrew)
Michah Micah Michah (Hebrew)
Nachum Nachum Nachum (Hebrew)
Habakkuk Habbakkuk Habakkuk (Hebrew)
Zephaniah Tzephanyah Zephaniah (Hebrew)
Haggai Haggai Haggai (Hebrew)
Zecharyah Zecharyah Zecharyah (Hebrew)
Malachi Malachi Malachi (Hebrew)